TitleCollection of the Royal Medical Society
DescriptionThe Society was founded with ten members, who presented a discourse on a medical subject of their choice before the other members. After 1763 the Society met in the Royal Infirmary until sufficient funds were raised for the erection of the Society's own premises in 1776. The Society was given a further boost to its prestige when it was granted a Royal Charter in 1778. Towards the end of the 18th century the Society published three volumes of inaugural dissertations under the title 'Thesaurus Medicus'. At the same time it experienced controversy over Brunonianism with supporters and opponents within the membership which led to some resignations. John Brown, the proponent of the theory, had been president of the Society on three occasions.
[Source: 'Scottish Medical Societies' by Jacqueline Jenkinson]

Contents: Papers read to the Royal Medical Society, 1779-1780
Extent1 volume
Add to My Items

    © 2022 Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 9 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JQ
    Telephone: +44 (0)131 225 7324
    A charity registered in Scotland no. SC009465

    © CalmView