TitleCollege examinations
DescriptionExamination of candidates for licentiateship of the College began in 1682.

In 1859 the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh agreed with the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to introduce the Double Qualification, covering both surgery and medicine. Following on from this, in 1884 those two colleges agreed with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow to introduce the Triple Qualification, covering all three Colleges.

Then, in 1963, there began a review of membership examination which resulted in 1969 in the MRCP(UK), a standard membership examination covering all three colleges of physicians in the United Kingdom.

Examination records held in this series date from 1859, although earlier information on examinations is held in College minutes, reports and correspondence series.
Extent32 boxes and 22 volumes
Add to My Items

    © 2021 Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 9 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 1JQ
    Telephone: +44 (0)131 225 7324
    A charity registered in Scotland no. SC009465

    © CalmView